About me

I’ve suffered from chronic pain off and on for my of my life.  I’m 28 years old, but the last 4 years have been the worst.  I live in pain.  Early this year, pain ruled my life.  I struggled to get through my work day so I could come home and crash, pretend to sleep, so I could do it all over again the next day.  My weekends were spent resting and trying to get some energy to get through the next week.  Pain was my existence.  It blinded me to everything else around me and in my life.  It got so bad that I took a leave of absence from work.  I spent those 11 weeks working on myself, examining every corner of my brain, looking at everything I do, every habit I have, and figuring out which ones contributed to my pain and had to go.  I’m still a work in progress, but I’m working very hard to reshape my life, myself, so that I can have a better quality of life.  So I can live, even with chronic pain following me every day.

I wage a battle every day against my own body.  I fight every day to control the pain, to do something each day that the pain wants to stop me from.  I’m in a war with no end, but I keep going.  I have to.  That’s what we sufferers of chronic pain do.  We keep fighting.  There is no alternative.  The alternative is giving up and letting the pain win, and that cannot happen.

3 thoughts on “About me

  1. uponmyheart says:

    I am glad to see this blog. I too have fibro and am 28. I have suffered with pain and medical issues my whole life and my pain has gotten worse the last 4 years. It is a daily struggle. I have recently started a new medication that is used for parkinsons disease but in trials has been found to help. My fibro is so advanced that I probably wont see the difference until I reach the maximum dose. But I def understand. I am ready to read more posts from you and with support all of us who suffer this disease can and will get thru.

  2. painfighter says:

    Thank you for commenting on my blog. It was great to get some feedback the first day I started this endeavor. I am always interested to speak with people who actually know and understand what I’m going through — although I wish they didn’t because I wouldn’t wish this pain on anyone. Please keep reading and if there is a topic you’re interested in reading about, let me know and I’ll look into it. I’m going to try to post most days (depending on my pain), so I hope you’ll follow my blog. Thanks!

  3. ddLynn says:

    I find your drive to write so openly early on in your stages of fibro commendable. I was diagnosed with Myofascial pain syndrome and unofficially (worker’s comp doc) with Fibro. I’ve been in denial about the Fibro for awhile as I was determined I would not allow it into my life (it often occurs in those who have Myofascial) But, as of late, I’m finally coming to grips that both are part of what I’m facing. I, too, write to keep and find balance. I actually have three blogs! Nuts, I know!!! Anyway, I am glad that you decided to write out your journey and share your trials and tribulations with us. I wish you all the best in finding your balance and happiness. I’ll be cheering you along on this journey.

Leave a Reply

