Fibromyalgia and Motivational Quotes

I’ve found these motivational quotes to have personal meaning to me in my daily fight against my fibromyalgia.  I try to find a quote I like daily.  It sometimes gives me that little boost I need to get through the day.

All things at first appear difficult.
–Chinese proverb

It’s not the situation… it’s your reaction to the situation.
–Bob Conklin

Difficulties should act as a tonic. They should spur us to greater exertion.
–B. C. Forbes

Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out.
–Robert Collier

No one knows what he can do until he tries.
–Publilius Syrus

Worry often gives a small thing a big shadow.
–Swedish Proverb

The habit of persistence is the habit of victory.
–Herbert Kaufman

You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it.
–Margaret Thatcher (So true. We fibromyalgia sufferers fight the battle every day against chronic pain.)

All the so-called secrets of success will not work unless you do.
–Unknown

Smooth seas do not make skilful sailors.
–African Proverb

Character is what emerges from all the little things you were too busy to do yesterday, but did anyway.
–Mignon McLaughlin

There are two ways of meeting difficulties: you alter the difficulties, or you alter yourself to meet them.
–Phyllis Bottome

Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.
–Anais Nin

Man often becomes what he believes himself to be. If I keep on saying to myself that I cannot do a certain thing, it is possible that I may end by really becoming incapable of doing it. On the contrary, if I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.
–Gandhi

Your toughness is made up of equal parts persistence and experience. You don’t so much outrun your opponents as outlast and outsmart them, and the toughest opponent of all is the one inside your head. (Or the pain inside your head for us.)
–Joe Henderson

Bad habits are like a comfortable bed, easy to get into, but hard to get out of.
–Anonymous

Our greatest battles are that with our own minds.
–Jameson Frank

The true measure of a man is not how he behaves in moments of comfort and convenience but how he stands at times of controversy and challenges.
–Martin Luther King Jr.

The best way out is always through.
–Robert Frost

Leave a Reply

