Fibromyalgia and Sleep

This post got me thinking about my own sleep (or lack thereof).  I read it yesterday evening and it seemed to turn into a self-fulfilling prophecy for me.  I’m always hoping for the elusive good nights sleep.  I remember as a teenager sleeping for 13 or 14 hours on the weekends no problem.  Nothing and no one could wake me up.  Now I wish I could just get a few hours of that same deep, restful sleep.  I have to take two medicines to fall asleep and help me stay asleep every night.  I dream a lot.  I never used to remember my dreams.  Now it’s like my brain is watching TV in my sleep.  My dreams aren’t like a whole storyline that only makes sense when you’re unconscious.  It’s like I’m channel flipping.  I just get a clip here, a clip there, all strung together all night long.  When I do have a long dream, 9 times out of 10 it’s a bad dream.  My husband had to wake me up last night because I was talking in my sleep.  In my head I was screaming but he said I was just mumbling.  I’ve asked my doctors about my dreaming and they said that this type of dreaming isn’t the type of dreams you get when you reach the deeper, more restful levels of sleep.  I’m stuck in one of the higher levels dreaming these weird, channel flipping dreams, and not getting the rest I need.

Before I took my leave of absence from work in April, I was running on fumes.  I hadn’t had a good night’s sleep in months.  I started sleeping better a couple of weeks after taking a break from work.  Now that I’m back at work, I’m having trouble sleeping again.  It’s not as bad as it was before April, but it’s still not fun.  I long for a good night’s rest.  When I was young, I was only able to nap when I was sick or had a migraine.  Now, I can usually nap whenever.  I don’t get as much rest from it as people without fibro do, I think, but it helps.  As the weeks pass now that I’ve returned to work, my sleep is slowing improving.  I just hope it improves faster before I start to crash again.

2 thoughts on “Fibromyalgia and Sleep

  1. whatonearthisfibro says:

    Sleep is such an important things for the body to recover and regenerate from whatever the day has thrown at it. I’m glad your sleep is improving.

    • painfighter says:

      Before I took a break from work, my body wasn’t getting a chance to recharge at all overnight. I was running on adrenaline and stubbornness. My break helped to recharge me and to greatly improve my energy level. I don’t have a lot of energy but I prioritize my day better now to get more done. I haven’t been doing as much meditation since I’ve returned to work. I need to get back to doing more meditation to help me sleep better. Sleep is key. Someone just told me that 8 hours of sleep is a long night. I wanted to laugh and say that’s the minimum I need to function. Any less than that and my pain spikes all day long.

Leave a Reply

