Serenity Prayer

Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change
Courage to change the things I can, and
Wisdom to know the difference.

Meditation

Seeking Serenity

As a woman living with fibromyalgia, I try to live by these words.  Whether its God, the Universe, or some other unknown higher force, I’ll take any help I can get in my daily struggle against fibromyalgia.  Living with fibromyalgia is about finding balance in all things. By nature, I am an overachiever who wants to give 120% in everything I do. I can’t do that anymore. I don’t have the energy to do that anymore, thanks to fibromyalgia.  I have to balance things so I have energy to do what needs to be done every day. I can’t poor all of my energy into my job. I have to have a life too. I have to accept that I can’t change this and move on. It takes courage to keep battling fibromyalgia every single day.  I don’t always have this courage and need a helping hand to find it again.  I need courage to change things about myself and my environment to lessen my pain and improve my health.  It’s a long, tough process, but it is possible.  I always ask for wisdom.  I need wisdom to know the difference between the things I can’t change and shouldn’t waste my time and energy on and those I can change and should work to change.  I don’t always make the right call on this, but I’m doing a lot better than I have in the past.  There’s still a voice inside my head demanding that I give my maximum capability on each project at work, but I ignore that voice.  My 80% still produces a better product than others in my company doing the same job I do.  And that’s okay now.  I need to save that extra bit of energy and focus so I can have a balanced, enjoyable life. So I don’t leave work and immediately collapse every day.  So I don’t spend my weekends doing nothing but resting for the work week ahead. We fibromyalgia sufferers face a long and daunting road, but if we support each other and rely on the support of those close to us, we can make the pain better. We can improve our situations and have a better quality of life.  We just need the courage to keep working at it.

One thought on “Serenity Prayer

  1. […] My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: I love the serenity prayer, but the thing I say most often to myself now is “You’ll learn to hang if you hang long […]

Leave a Reply

