Take Pleasure in the Small Things

I’m feeling rather down today as it’s been a bad couple of days pain-wise, so I thought I’d remind myself of all the pleasure I get from the small things in life.  These are all things that fibromyalgia can never take from me.

Daffodils

Stop and smell the flowers

Finding Pleasure in the Small Things in Life

  1. Stop and smell the flowers
  2. Play fetch with my dog and laugh when he jumps to catch the ball in midair.
  3. Enjoy a bowl of ice cream with extra chocolate syrup and cherries
  4. Take a walk before dusk
  5. Enjoy the sunset. I love sunsets in the mountains.
  6. Pet my dog, and watch his tail wag.  He just has a stump, so it always makes me smile.
  7. Kiss my husband
  8. Listen to the sound of a good rain.
  9. Walk to the creek near my house and listen to the sound of the water babbling away.
  10. Read a good book
  11. Laugh at a good joke
  12. Sleep late on the weekends
  13. Eat chocolate. I love chocolate of all kinds.
  14. Enjoy a good cheeseburger.  Even if I can’t have the bun now that I’m gluten free, a good burger is still awesome.
  15. Enjoy a long, hot bubble bath
  16. Take a nap
  17. Sushi – I love sushi.
  18. Have lunch with my friends
  19. Eat a strawberry fresh from the garden
  20. Relax on my deck and feel the breeze on my face

Mountain Sunset

I know I could continue adding to my list, but these 20 are enough to put the smile back on my face.

What are some of your favorite simple pleasures in life?

2 thoughts on “Take Pleasure in the Small Things

  1. […] Take Pleasure in the Small Things (painfighter.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. | Tagged Cleaning, Home and Garden, Shopping […]

  2. Wow, that’s great. Thanks for sharing about “Take Pleasure in the Small Things.” I think you’ve made some truly interesting points. Not too many people would actually think about this the way you just did. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

