Proud of Myself

I’m very proud of myself today.  I’m also very tired, so this entry will be short and I’ll post more later.

I did 45 minutes of yard work yesterday!  I haven’t been up to doing yard work of any kind in at least a year, if not more!  I cleared out a bunch of dead daisies, giant weeds along a stone wall between my house and my neighbors, and pruned bushed and trees.  Even doing this little bit of work felt like a huge victory.  I felt like I’d climbed Mount Everest or something.  Fibromyalgia makes us appreciate the small victories.  Things that used to be so easy for us, like yard work and gardening were for me, are now huge challenges that we are rarely up to.  They become huge hurdles we can’t clear.  When I did that little bit of yard work, I felt amazing.  I was and still am so proud of myself.  It was a huge accomplishment for me.  And I was good about listening to my body too.  I got to the point where I could tell if I did much more, I was going to overdo it and pay for it today.  So I cleaned up, stretched like I would after a workout, and went inside to rest.  Today, I have a mix of the good aches you have after a good workout and aggravated tender points.  My back and shoulders are hurting more than usual, but I’m still glad I accomplished what I did.

Today, I went to my good friend’s baby shower.  She’s due in early October.  I’m so happy for her.  She’s having a boy.  The shower was 3.5 hours long.  Going in, I expected I’d have to leave early.  I didn’t.  I was there for the whole thing.  I had a great time.  I was proud of myself for being able to be there the whole time, while still listening to my bodies needs and taking time to stretch or get up and move around.  It was great to chat and socialize with other women my age.  I loved watching my friend open her presents and be so thrilled with them.  I got to meet her mom who I’ve heard tons about but have never met.  It was a lot of fun.  People there asked how I was feeling and when I told them I had fibromyalgia they were genuinely sympathetic and supportive of my battle.  Most of them work for the Department of Veterans Affairs handling veterans health claims, so they were pretty knowledgeable about fibromyalgia.  It was great to be surrounded by fun, intelligent women who also know what fibromyalgia was and offered me their support.  It was a real treat.  That long of an event though has left me exhausted.  I’m on day two of Lyrica and it has definitely helped with my sleep so far.  It’s also making me really shaky and light-headed at times.  I hope the last two go away.

5 thoughts on “Proud of Myself

  1. csgomez79 says:

    Good for you! I’ve been stretching after I do things too and I think it helps. Do you find that your face hurts after talking and smiling so much? It’s a compromise but definitely worth it, I think.

  2. Journaling Pain says:

    This is so wonderful! I am so glad for you as I know what a challenge it often is to just get up in the morning. We all must take our days one at a time and enjoy the simple pleasures we are blessed to have no matter how few and far between.

  3. staciegh says:

    That is awesome, I am so happy for you.Stretching is a great thing, makes me feel better. See, we can have good days!!!

    • painfighter says:

      I’m glad stretching is helping you. I’d be a mess without yoga. You might see if your local library has a yoga for beginners DVD. Or look for a local class. Yoga is good for your mind, body and soul, I’ve found.

  4. C-Joy says:

    Good for you! These victories give confidence and energy to keep on trying 🙂

Leave a Reply

