Useful Info from Pain Awareness Month

I’ve really been getting in to promoting September as Chronic Pain Awareness month and National Chronic Invisible Illness week this week.  It’s comforting to me that there are those out there working hard to raise awareness for what we chronic pain sufferers go through every day.  It’s great to know that there is support for us out there and people rooting for us, even though we’ve never met them.

I was looking at American Chronic Pain Association’s website and found this link.  It has some useful information and tools for chronic pain sufferers that I wanted to share.  Topics include lessons learned on treating chronic pain medically, information on pain management programs, a relaxation video (which I haven’t looked at yet because I’m at work), tools to help us communicate our symptoms and needs better to our doctors, and lots of other resources.

I used this site’s rescoure finder and the first thing that popped up for  me was an interesting article on the history of diagnosing and treating fibromyalgia.  I didn’t realize that the diagnosis of an earlier understanding of fibromyalgia dates back to 1800.

http://www.theacpa.org/69/Septemberispainawarenessmonth.aspx

Leave a Reply

