Treading Water

Since I developed chronic pain and fibromyalgia, I often feel like I’m doing a lot of work to go nowhere.  I often use the phrase “treading water” to my doctor’s and my therapist to describe how I’m feeling.  Time blends together for me since every day involves pain.  It’s hard to keep track of what day it is for me.  I’ve spent a lot of time in the last few years treading water and just trying to keep my head above water.  It’s only been in the last few months that I’ve found my joy again.  I still have more joy and passion to rediscover, but I’m on the right path now.  I’ll get there.  My goal is a happier, healthier, brighter future.  I thought this quote summed all of this up really well and wanted to share it.

3 thoughts on “Treading Water

  1. Lisa says:

    How long have you had fibromyalgia?

    • painfighter says:

      I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia in February. I’ve suffered from bouts of chronic pain for many, many years. Bad migraines since 5th grade. Horrible TMJ problems since I was 15. I believe my TMJ disorder is what caused my fibromyalgia. I’ve been in constant pain every day for over four years now. I guess that’s how long I’ve really had fibro, it just took my doctors a long time to figure it out.

  2. Tracy Rydzy, MSW, LSW says:

    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award because your blog is truly inspiring and…lovely. http://ohwhatapain.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/lovely-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

