Pain Changes Us

“Pain upsets and destroys the nature of the person who feels it,” said Aristotle.

I am not the same person I was before the onset of my chronic pain.  I’ve grown.  I’ve changed.  In some ways, pain has made me a better person, I think.  I’ve learned who I really am because of my chronic pain.  I’m a fighter.  I’m a survivor.  I’m stubborn.  I want to get better and am willing to do the hard work required to get better.  The more I learn about myself, the stronger I feel.  Maybe one day knowing myself will lead to true wisdom.

3 thoughts on “Pain Changes Us

  1. Journaling Pain says:

    My pain precipitated change in me as well, and like you, I believe there are many ways in which I have become, am still becoming, a better person. In order to even deal with the idea that I have a disease that I will have to live with for the rest of my life I have had to step outside of myself and take a look at the kind of person I am. I found things I didn’t like. The beauty of it is that I can now make a choice…continue living the way I have been or change those things I don’t like about myself. I discovered in making those changes that, not only do I have a more positive view of who I am becoming, but I am now better able to deal with the disease. Perhaps you’ll say I’m crazy, but if having fibromyalgia is what it takes to make me a better person, then I’m glad it happened.

    Thanks for your share. I enjoy reading your blogs…they make me think, and they remind me I am not alone and that I am blessed to be associated with others who deal with the some of the same issues.

  2. I get so much inspiration from you!

Leave a Reply

