Festive, Fun way to Relieve Pain

The holidays can be stressful, to say the least.  This season involves a lot of hustle and bustle and if you suffer from fibromyalgia or chronic pain, all the goings on this holiday season can spike your pain and sap your energy. I’m always looking for creative ways to manage my pain, instead of just relying on medications. Here’s one I bet you haven’t thought of:

Coloring!

Christmas Tree Coloring Page

My therapist turned me on to this and I’ll be darned if the pain just doesn’t fade to the background while I color. I find that I get the best result when I choose pictures that I could’ve colored as a child, not anime or new cartoons or anything else from the present. I get the best result using crayons too. Colored pencils and markers just don’t give me as much pain relief. I don’t know if it’s the smell of the crayons or that I’m tapping into my inner child who is still happy and untouched by pain and traumas, but whatever the reason coloring helps me manage my pain. And anything that helps manage pain is a good thing in my book.

I haven’t been up to much holiday decorating the last couple of weeks. I just put some lights on m Christmas tree last night.  It still needs ornaments, garland, and all the fixings.  I haven’t wrapped a single present from the daunting stack of things to be wrapped either.  So I’m killing two birds with one stone today. I’m coloring Christmas coloring pages. It’s fun to color them and get in the holiday spirit. It brings up lots of childhood memories of happy times at Christmas with my family and the excitement of opening presents and seeing what Santa left for us on Christmas morning.  The pain fades away while I color and when I’m done, I can tape the pages up on the walls in my house to add some holiday decorations and color to the house.

Christmas Stockings Coloring Page

So before you work yourself into a flare up or crash from too much excitement and sugar, take a moment, breathe, and enjoy some coloring. Your body will thank you.

3 thoughts on “Festive, Fun way to Relieve Pain

  1. Connie Morin says:

    OMG,I thought I was the only one! It really does just soothe! At first I would colour with my grandkids, but now that they’re all grown, I just take out the books & crayons & color away! It does remind me of my childhood. WE didn’t have fancy gifts, but always looked forward to having our very own coloring books & nice NEW crayons for Christmas.

  2. C-Joy says:

    This is brilliant -not only for the pain relief, but it is something my daughter is really into right now!! So now when mommy is hurting, instead of saying “My body hurts too much to do anything”, I can say “bring out the coloring book and crayons” 😀 I wonder if Santa can bring me my own box of crayons for Christmas……

  3. Love the idea and am anxious to try it. Thank you for sharing

Leave a Reply

