Weather or Not – Fibromyalgia under Pressure

I stumbled upon this post from RebuildingWellness and wanted to share it. I’m on day 4 of a rain/storm induced flare up and am in dire need of some sunny, calm days to lower my pain levels. I wonder why we fibromyalgia sufferers are so sensitive to weather? My skull and jaw is where the worst of the pain and weather sensitivity presents. My skull feels like its being crushed by the pressure in the air and all the bones are grinding together. My jaw aches badly. How does your sensitivity to weather present? Please share your story here.

Lightening

WEATHER OR NOT — FIBROMYALGIA UNDER PRESSURE (By Sue)

WeatherGaugeDo you experience INCREASED fibromyalgia (and/or other chronic) symptoms with seasonal changes?

For most of us — yes, symptoms do increase.

But … which ones?

Some of you tell me that fatigue flares to unbearable levels during the heat – especially if there’s high humidity to boot. Some say their symptoms of pain are overwhelming when cold frigid winds blow. And, symptoms such as migraines, sinus pain, and allergic tendencies can increase during stormy and unpredictable weather.

Of course, there’s also the flurry of symptoms that increase right before a significant weather change. Most of us have experienced that type of flare. We really are sensitive beings, aren’t we?

To read more about being a “sensitive type,” read this post about my Tuning Fork Analogy.

Some of us feel as if we could hire ourselves out as weather forecasters or gauges. It makes sense! We’re surely more accurate than a groundhog, right? (I’ll have to do some research about Punxsutawney Phil’s annual salary….) We can predict rain, wind, heat, or significant change by the accompanying pain and fatigue in various parts of the body. For some, the physical impact centers around areas of former injury (broken bones, torn muscles/ligaments/tendons, etc.). For others, it centers around areas of consistent pain such as particular joints, sinuses, or an overall generalized overwhelming fatigue.

In studying the correlation between symptoms and the weather, we need to fine tune the question. We should ask, WHAT symptoms change and WHEN do they change?

For me, change is the operative word. Even though my symptoms are now very minor (for which I’m very grateful), I still pay attention to the slightest physical twinge. I’m aware of incoming weather fronts because my symptoms CHANGE when the weather is about to CHANGE. It’s more than the temperature, precipitation, wind, and humidity levels. For me, a barometric pressure change can be felt throughout the body. The bigger the weather change, the bigger the symptoms change.

Do barometric pressure changes affect you? If so, where do you feel it first, and for how long? Can you mitigate changes by taking preventative action such as increasing certain supplements, drinking more water, and getting regular exercise?

I can’t wait to hear what you think! Jot down your weather-related experiences below…

3 thoughts on “Weather or Not – Fibromyalgia under Pressure

  1. Cassandra says:

    Thank you for sharing this! I, in turn, shared it on the Fighter Zine blog, but made sure to give due credit to all involved.

    I’m still trying to figure all of this “fibro” stuff out. Our weather doesn’t change much here in the desert, but I am noticing some correlations. When I visited my folks in the Midwest for Christmas, I was definitely in more pain and had more fatigue, but I didn’t know that the cold and snow was the cause until much later.

    I guess I’m not as sensitive as some. Thank goodness.

  2. Michele says:

    My pain increase in my back and down my legs and your right I experience an overall change in my body through barometer change as well. I also find my fatigue gets so bad that I cannot stay awake all day.

  3. My worst pains are my legs, my face/jaws, skull and headaches. I was getting botox in my scalp for migraines and that helped, however, we are now on a fixed income and I can’t afford them anymore. I can definitely tell a change in weather. I have a very low tolerance to extreme heat or extreme cold.

Leave a Reply

