Lessons Learned from Chronic Pain

I was talking with a friend yesterday about how chronic pain has been a harsh teacher for me, but it’s taught me a lot of important life lessons. It turned into a really good discussion and at one point I realized all the things I was saying. Pain has changed me forever, but a lot of the changes have made me better person. I wanted to share with you some of the lessons I’ve learned from my pain. Sometimes we lose perspective amidst all the pain and forget that there is always a silver lining to things, we just have to take the time to look for it.

You make room for the pain

  • Slow down
  • Enjoy the moment
  • Don’t spend so much effort thinking and worrying about the future that you lose out on all the good of the present
  • Remember to breathe (Yes, you can forgot how to breathe! I know, I’ve done it.)
  • In the grand scheme of things today’s crisis doesn’t mean anything
  • Always look for the silver linings
  • It’s okay to say no and put yourself first
  • Be clear on what you want or you won’t get it (especially with doctors!!!)
  • (Literally) Stop and smell the roses…any flower really

butterfly17

  • Stop to enjoy the feeling of the sunshine and the feel of the breeze on your face
  • Enjoy the little things in life
  • Worrying is just a waste of the limited energy I have
  • Stay positive in the face of pain
  • Smile, even if you have to fake the smile for awhile until it’s a genuine one
  • Listen to your body, it will tell you what it (and therefore you) need and what is bad for you
  • Laugh as much as you can
  • Kick off your shoes and enjoy the feeling the grass and earth under your feet
  • Anyone who won’t make any effort to understand what you are dealing with with fibromyalgia and blames you for your illness isn’t worth your time

I could go on if I took the time. It took me a long time to learn these lessons. I’m hard headed. But now I’m so glad I’ve learned these lessons. I enjoy and appreciate things much more than I used to before going through this ordeal. I didn’t know what I was missing out on until I took the time to stop and smell the roses.

Pain Makes Us Who We Are

Pain Makes Us Who We Are

4 thoughts on “Lessons Learned from Chronic Pain

  1. ART by IMI says:

    Really really good life lessons. Well done on seeing the positives and learning from your illness. I am often in pain and similar lessons have really helped me in my life.

  2. Serenity says:

    My pain has made me quite philosophical…why do I have this back condition? I have not done any type of laborious work to warrant it. Why do I have disc degenerative disease? How did I get that and the multiple herniated discs? How did I get endometrosis? Why did I get it? Since I am having extreme pelvic pain 8 months after the hysterectomy, have the endometromial tissue that is supposedly lying dormant have become active again? Will I have to relieve the decade long nightmare of numerous surgery and hemorrhaging compounded with the back pain and fibrous pain and chronic fatigue? I have so many questions and very little concrete answers and it is quite frustrating…The newest question that has cropped up here recently is what color is pain? I have settled on a shade of grey. I am 30 years old, hopelessly barren, engaged, and strapped with this death sentence of chronic pain that I have to go to the extreme of doing spinal fusion surgery where there is even no guarantee that you will come out better afterwards or even being able to walk afterwards. I am just done. I am sick and tired of this. The one thing I truly loved has been taken away…horseback riding. Because of my stupid back. And the diagnosis of me being infertile and finally deciding upon a hysterectomy nearly crushed me again. I desperately wanted a daughter of me and my fiancée’s blood. There are some days I just want to cut myself to give me some relief from my pain but I must retain my sanity through all of this. I would never, ever wish my condition upon anyone. But these are not the only infermities I suffer from. The other ones pale in comparison though.

  3. Jumping_Jenny_444 says:

    Those are some great insights! 🙂 Despite dealing with the pain and fatigue of fibromyalgia, I try to slow down, stay positive, and focus on the things that I can do.

Leave a Reply

