Quote of the Day – Importance of Meditation

Meditation has been a huge help to me over the years, and especially in the last few months as I deal with going through a divorce. I came across this passage from Ane Pema Chodron, a woman Buddhist teacher and long time practice of deeper meditation techniques. Meditation helps me clear my mind of its usual jumble of thoughts, focus on taking deep, calming breaths, and relax. It helps me relieve stress and is one of my tools to manage my chronic pain from fibromyalgia. I highly recommend meditation to you as it can reduce many things that trigger our pain: stress, emotional upset (anger, depression, etc.), physical and mental tension, sleep problems, and more.

“Wishing to be free of that kind of really self-imposed loneliness, self-imposed suffering that we create with our minds. The fact that our house burns down is not self-imposed. The fact that we get an illness isn’t self-imposed. What we do with that and how that escalates into such intense misery and feeling of separateness and feeling of aloneness and alienation. This, we do this with our minds. We do it to ourselves. We torture ourselves.”
-Pema Chodron

lotus flower

Namaste everyone!

Leave a Reply

