Collateral Damage

Reposted from Seeking Equilibrium.

I liked this post and wanted to share it. The graphic is a great graphic for the invisible face of pain too, I think.

two faces collateral damage

Why?
Societal pressure?
Weakness?

We are our own worst enemy. Every day we have to fight a war. War against pain, war against fatigue, war against an invisible illness that most don’t understand, war against indifferent doctors and war against pharmacies just trying to fill our prescriptions.

Why then do we turn the war on ourselves?

I’ve been to support meetings and read blogs and hear people talk about medication. Some even seem proud that they don’t and haven’t given in to prescription medication. That’s good if it works for them but to make anyone else feel less than human for taking them is wrong. Using medication that you might become physically dependent upon isn’t a sign of weakness. That is an unfortunate side effect of maybe feeling normal and productive.

We err on the side of the addict.

Maybe we’re trained that it’s greedy and selfish to want something for ourselves. All I know is every time I swallow a pill I feel weak.

And that, my friends, is stupid.

If we are responsible and knowledgeable about the power of the pills, if we “follow the rules” then there shouldn’t be any self-loathing about using narcotics or pills that help us get the restorative sleep we need. When did it become the norm that suffering is noble?

It isn’t.

We can do so much more when pain isn’t creating havoc in our bodies. If we can sleep then maybe, just maybe, we won’t be as stiff and sore in the morning. If that happens maybe, just maybe, we can get the exercise that we need. Don’t people get it? It’s a vicious cycle. We need exercise but it just hurts too much to start.

I think we need to like ourselves a little bit more and not look at medication as weakness. There are a lot of therapies out there and every one of us need to tweak them for our own use.  I don’t think we should feel bad for wanting to feel better.
We fight a war every single day.
And sometimes it feels like we should give up.
We can’t.
And we shouldn’t be one of the civilian casualties.
4 thoughts on “Collateral Damage

  1. I agree with what you said, but feel that many feel that way because of the way Fibromyalgia patients are treated. There is still a large group of health professionals out there who do not even believe our illness is real. Personally I chose to get off of the medication because it would work for a while and then stop and they would just up the dosage and the cycle would begin again. So I felt not being on the medication helped me to be clearer and I found and am still finding other ways to help deal with the pain. I think everyone should stick to whatever works best for them because at the end of the day we are the ones who have deal with this struggle everyday,

  2. Marietta says:

    I believe that, for anyone with chronic pain, taking medication is only one part of a treatment plan. If a chronic pain patient is able to add non-drug measures that are known to help combat their illness, it helps that individual to combat their illness on multiple fronts at the same time. Each treatment measure, ideally, will enhance the other treatment
    measures…so that the maximum amount of pain relief can be achieved.
    I write a blog about this topic, you can follow me at: http://everydaypainmgmt.blogspot.com/. To you and your readers: I hope you find something useful there! Take care all.

  3. I stumbled upon your blog due to the picture you posted here. I have CRPS (sorta like Fibro but less common) and other issues. I have been fighting a chronic issue with migraines, and really needed a pick me up today. Seeing that there was finally another fighter liked me helped more than you could know. ^_^ Keep fighting the good fight! And thank you for writing!

  4. Freda says:

    I was dx with Fibro in 1980 and have deal with this for a long time. I have been on just about every med out there for this illness and have tried just about all the other alternative treatments and what it boils down too, it’s a balancing act, not so much with your body, but with your dollars and what your insurance company will and will not pay for. Sorry to say, but based on how much money you have or have not and can throw at this illness that can make or break you. Unfortunately, like everything else in this world it boils down to money and how money you can pay to feel better. I’d like to try stem cell injections at trigger points, but right now insurance companies consider that experimental and will not pay for it. At least medicare will not pay for it. So, I need $80.00 for each injection site and $60.00 to draw out my stem cell to prepare for the injection. We that adds up to big bucks when you need multiple sites. Right now, I am receiving botox injections for my neck that medicare is paying for, but you wouldn’t not believe what I had to go though to get them to pay for these and the amount of suffering and pain and the years it took.

    I have found that fighting insurance companies have been my biggest problems in getting the kind of care that I have needed. They are the ones that just do NOT want to recognize Fibro for what it is and all the possible difference treatment that one could need to fight this illness!!

Leave a Reply

